Initiation & Introductions…

pbp3Well, it’s 10:15am on Friday as I start writing this. I’m late again; this is only the second time I’ve been so late, but it is the second in as many weeks.

Unlike last week, I had no plan ready to just flesh out, so here’s an even less structured post than normal…

Initiation is the bit where you are formally added to a group, or so I’m told. I’m not sure that I was ever really initiated into anything. The closest was probably a ceremony I was sent by the Order of the Mithril Star with instructions for how to initiate yourself. I think it mentioned bathrobes and hoods made of towels. (I think it was meant to be symbolic, rather than asking you to invest money in clothing for a group who existed mostly over the internet.)

Even my brief stint as a Wiccan ended before the initiation and I moved on, another of the craft’s ‘undecideds’ who had seen enough to say it was not for him. Oh, I have a great respect for Wicca (though less for some of its members, making it a little like Christianity in that way) and I am sure it works for some people, just not me…

When I joined my current druid grove, there was no formal introduction. We were shown where to stand and handed a script, then we were part of it. It’s more like a bunch of friends who meet up at the pub; you don’t have a formal initiation into a bunch of drinking buddies, you just turn up often enough that people get used to you.

The true milestones for me were never the moments when I joined a group of people, no matter how much it meant to me at the time.

The gods introducing themselves, that would be the special moment…

I spent years with the knowledge of a presence with me. She (and it was definitely she to me) was always there, as far as I could tell, but at a respectful distance and making no attempt to say hello that I could discern. My attempts to identify her were fairly fruitless, though I got closer over time.

And then, one day, she did come forward. I asked for her help, she gave it. It was the start (or rekindling, but that’s a topic for much later) of a relationship with the Morrigan that persists to this day. She’s been there, watching and making herself visible, for a while, but it was that moment which defined my faith. I’ll come back to her later, but suffice to say that the circumstances of that initial pledge defined the nature of our relationship.

She was not the first ‘power’ to introduce herself, I’d had dealings with others, but she was the first to form an enduring bond. She was also the first to take on that kind of role, the first where it wasn’t a casual relationship of convenience, the first with that kind of status in the supernatural world.

The second true higher power was Odin. Wandering about the snow, half blind and freezing, I found the one-eyed wanderer. He’s not a patron of mine, but he said hello for reasons I cannot really fathom as we passed. I suppose it’s a little like being introduced to the king of a foreign land and having him shake your hand, then moving on; you wonder what he was doing there, you know that you are not one of his subjects, but you leave with a very positive opinion of him.

It’s hard to explain a meeting with the divine, the quiet subtexts of words that were never spoken and the wealth of ideas that can be expressed without conscious communication by nothing more than a smile, but I left with a much better idea of who he was. I left with an idea that I understand how such a man could be Loki’s brother, no matter how torn and conflicted the feelings he might have.

In some ways, I suppose my faith has always been about my relationship with the divine and not the earthly groups who gather to worship them. No amount of chanting and incense, no bestowing of titles and responsibilities, will ever compare to a meeting with a higher power. I probably sound quite arrogant and egotistical, but it’s hard for human priests to compare with the gods they try to speak for…

This entry was posted in About Me, Gods and Spirits, Magic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Initiation & Introductions…

  1. Miaërowyn says:

    I completely agree! While in general North American culture, religion is more of a means to create community (with Christianity being the big influence). Community is a wonderful thing in and of itself, there is much to learn from like-minded people and the duties we perform to ensure efficiency of the group.
    However, real connection with deities is such a personal and solitary thing. Even if you worship with others, nothing compares to one on one contact with Them.
    As it seems often lately, this is another thing I was meant to read right now 🙂 Thanks for the great post!

    • AnthonyHJ says:

      Well, I am not sure I am qualified to talk about North American culture, but it sounds like the UK too. I suppose it may be a sign that I am antisocial, preferring the company of gods to men.

      • Miaërowyn says:

        Yeah, I think it’s general Western culture, although there are differences between N. America and Europe, definitely. And this could very well be a sign 🙂

  2. robinhj says:

    I am still searching for the truth of how the Universe works or a clarification of what I instinctively believe to be the truth and have tried many different forms of meditation and rituals with variable success. I have had feelings of elation or awe and vague glimpses of things and people but only once have I felt I had indisputably met with a higher power and it just left me scared 🙂 (I mis-typed that as ‘sacred’, is that relevant?)

    I needed help and I tried a simple meditation that was supposed to help you meet someone; it was a long time ago so I cannot remember if it was supposed to be ‘my spirit guide’ or angels of something else. What I met was a group of dark menacing entities who said nothing and did nothing but nevertheless I humbly asked for the help I needed and retraced my steps as quickly as I could. I got the help I needed, and it was considerable, but I came away feeling like I had had the temerity to ask a favour of the local Cosmic Mafia and I vowed I would not be doing it again. I promised nothing in return for their help but isn’t that how the earthly Mafia works as well? “Of course Uncle will help you because he knows that when he himself needs your help with some trifling task then you will be happy to return the favour’ I am hoping that what I did was more like walking up to a bunch of thugs in a dark alley and asking for a light and them deciding it takes less effort to give me a cheap box of matches so I go away than to slice me up. Perhaps I did meet angels, many believe they are not the nice friendly beings they are usually portrayed as. I have never been able to find that ritual again and perhaps that is for the best.

    • AnthonyHJ says:

      It’s a curious arrogance that makes someone think they can have something for nothing. Gods help you because it is in their interest to do so, not because they are ‘kind’ necessarily. Yes, some of them are nice and their justification is to make you a nicer person to spread happiness, but they always have a plan or purpose…

  3. robinhj says:

    I don’t agree. I help people because they ask for help, especially if it is something easily within my capabilities and resources (let’s not go down that blind alley about ‘Everyone is selfish and only help people to make themselves feel good’) A gift not freely given without strings attached is not a gift and the ones I interact with would find the concept of reward or conditions for helping someone with a genuine need confusing and alien. Even the ones that so scared me did set conditions or ask for recompense and the fear could all just be my own cowardice.

    • AnthonyHJ says:

      I think you are misinterpreting my point; it’s not about conditions and recompense, just motives. Nobody gives a gift without a reason.

      Sending a birthday gift to someone who was not expecting one from you will make them happy and usually makes you feel happy too. Adding a larger than average tip to a restaurant bill is a way of rewarding and encouraging a certain behaviour or level of service. Chasing someone down the street to give them back their wallet when nobody would see you walk off with it affirms your self-belief that you are a good person.

      Each one of these acts is performed freely and without strings because it has an effect on the universe which you find desirable, even if you are not explicitly thanked or even recognised for it. Nothing is done without a reason, even if we don’t really think about the reason. You can argue all you like about whether it is selfish to have an ulterior motive, but even the most altruistic act is driven by a desire to change the world (subjectively) for the better.

  4. robinhj says:

    Ok so you *still* went down that the blind alley I asked you not to go down. 🙂 Least said about my opinions on that old chestnut the better.

    It is not about motives; I was responding to the first sentence where you said “It’s a curious arrogance that makes someone think they can have something for nothing”.
    If someone hands me £5 because it makes them feel good then I have had that “Something for nothing” that you said can’t happen. If I give a £5 to a homeless person because he asked me to then he has had ‘Something for nothing’ and arguing that I did it to improve the world by allowing a homeless person to eat is deep and meaningless sophistry that does not alter the fact that I have given him a gift free of any debt or expectations, Why accuse me of ‘Curious arrogance’ for hoping for the same from someone infinitely more powerful when I am in need? At worst I expect indifference or refusal for having the wrong motives.

  5. Pingback: Kings and Queens | The Grumpy Druid

  6. Pingback: The Morrigan | The Grumpy Druid

  7. Pingback: Nature and the burden of proof | The Grumpy Druid

  8. Pingback: Belief | The Grumpy Druid

Leave a comment